Sacred Spaces: Houses of Worship Designed by Frank Lloyd Wright DVD


5 in stock


Frank Lloyd Wright has long been regarded as America’s greatest architect. Famous for such works as the Guggenheim Museum and Fallingwater, Wright designed over 1,000 buildings during his 70-year career. Sacred Spaces examines his brilliant, but less well-known, houses of worship. This fascinating documentary showcases all ten religious structures that were created for a wide range of faiths. Wright’s uniquely American designs were hugely influential in the field of engineering, and groundbreaking in the way they incorporated natural surroundings. Perhaps the greatest testament to Wright’s impact is the fact that active congregations still use each of these structures today.


The Houses of Worship included featured in this film:

  • Unity Temple Oak Park, IL
  • Pettit Chapel Belvidere, IL
  • Pfeiffer Chapel Lakeland, FL
  • Danforth Chapel Lakeland, FL
  • Community Christian Church Kansas City, MO
  • Unitarian Meeting House Madison, WI
  • Beth Sholom Synagogue Elkins Park, PA
  • Annunciation Greek Orthodox Church Wauwatos, WI
  • Pilgrim Congregational Church Redding, CA
  • First Christian Church Phoenix, AZ


About Michael Miner:

Since 2002, Filmmaker Michael Miner has devoted his career entirely to the work of Frank Lloyd Wright, documenting the master architect’s buildings in such films as “Sacred Spaces”, “A Child of the Sun”, and “Romanza”, which covers the California work of Mr. Wright.

His Hollywood career established after the screening of the short film “Glycerine Tears” at the 1991 Sundance film festival, Miner worked on mostly commercial projects for the next 10 years, detouring briefly with another Sundance screened film “Serial Killer”, in 1995. Burned out by the Hollywood factory system, Miner would ultimately embark on two major road trips, taking the opportunity to visit many out-of-the-way Frank Lloyd Wright public buildings spread throughout America. The first trip, which lasted from 1995 to 1998, planted the seed of an idea for documenting themes of Frank Lloyd Wright buildings in individual films.

The second road trip, beginning in 2002, led directly to the first Wright film “Sacred Spaces”, which documented many of his houses of worship and was completed in 2005. This was followed by “A Child of the Sun”, the story of the West campus of Florida Southern college in Lakeland, for which Wright designed buildings from 1938 to 1958. The third film in the series, “Romanza,” looks at Wright’s relationship to California and explores some of the 25 projects that were built (out of the 80 he designed) in the state over his seven decade career.

Miner is currently on tour with his newest film “Masterpieces”, which includes segments on Wright’s finest buildings, including Fallingwater, The Johnson Wax Administration Building, and the Dana Thomas House, among several others.

Additional information


Director: Michael Miner, Rated: G – General Audience, Run Time: 53 minutes, Language: English, Region: Region 1 (U.S. and Canada only), Format: NTSC, Release Date: November 19, 2005